Phryne revealed before the Areopagus

“Phryne revealed before the Areopagus” by Jean-Léon Gérôme

Naked skin intense light
looking away from them at nothing

My lover took off my clothes
bared my to every red robed man

Ashamed and wanted to not cry
as they judged me with panicked alarm

Ahead of me was my goddess
even she turned away turned away

Looked at my blue robe at my red girdle
is it dark outside

In my arms its cold and dark
the men only see my body

The God sees my soul nothing else
again I await the end

Leave a Reply

