Losing my earrings

Perfect day in autumn,
punchbowl waterfall, the pool;
I lost my earrings.

Me, and a new group member, went ti the waterfall, near out survivor camp. We built aqueduct, inside the mud think forest to give us water. The Leader said, “It was having problems at the source.” Gran’ma Emese was choose form the engineers, I was chosen for the militia. It had been a mild autumn. We got out there. In the water, the pool, the trees ringed the clearings. She had begun and finished ad put in order. Then . . . then she slipped, fall in theater beside there small punchbowl water. She went under. I saw her for an instant, then its all over. We couldn’t find her body. I tried to forget her. I tried.

Leave a Reply

